Cartesian coordinate system

Two intersecting number lines are taken intersecting at right angles at their origins to form the axes of the coordinate system.

The plane is divided into four quadrants by these perpendicular axes called the x-axis (horizontal line) and the y-axis (vertical line).

The position of any point in the plane can be represented by an ordered pair of numbers (x, y). These ordered are called the coordinates of the point. This is called the Cartesian coordinate system. The plane is called the Cartesian plane.

The point with coordinates (4, 2) has been plotted on the Cartesian plane shown. The coordinates of the origin are (0, 0).