Alternative Curriculum/Reporting Recognition

Schools who plan to implement a curriculum that is different to the P-10 Western Australian Curriculum and/or a different method of reporting student achievement, as outlined in the School Curriculum and Standards Authority’s Pre-primary to Year 10: Teaching, Assessing and Reporting Policy, must apply to the School Curriculum and Standards Authority (the Authority) to seek recognition.

In 2022, the Authority will accept alternative curriculum submissions for the following Pre-primary to Year 10 learning areas:

English Health and Physical Education
Mathematics Languages (Years 3, 4, 5 & 6)
Science Technologies
Humanities and Social Sciences The Arts

The following information is provided to explain the process of recognition of well-established alternative curriculum (and/or reporting on student achievement) as meeting the requirements of the Western Australian Curriculum and Assessment Outline and to assist organisations to prepare for submissions to the Authority’s Alternative Curriculum/Reporting Recognition Review Panel:

The review of the Foundation to Year 10 Australian Curriculum by the Australian Curriculum, Assessment and Reporting Authority (ACARA) was undertaken in 2021 and endorsed by Education Ministers in April 2022. The endorsed Australian Curriculum Version 9 is currently being audited by the Authority to inform the future adoption and/or adaption within the Western Australian Curriculum and Assessment Outline. This ongoing work will continue into 2023 and as a result formal submissions will not be accepted in this current round of submissions for recognition of an alternative curriculum and reporting on student achievement.